Saturday, October 3, 2015

Cameroon:Biya’s post-2013 elections cabinet reshuffle

      By Christopher Ambe
 At long last Cameroon President Paul Biya has reshuffled the government after the 2013 municipal, parliamentary and senatorial elections that gave crushing victories his ruling CPDM at the three polls.
President Paul Biya:
       The constitution of the Country does not give a time-frame for the appointment of a new cabinet after major polls (whether municipal, parliamentary,senatorial or Presidential) but it almost became a norm in the Biya-regime that after major elections there were cabinet reshuffles.
      And so after the 2013 polls, Cameroonians waited anxiously for it to no avail until today, October 2, that President Biya, 82, who has ruled Cameroon since 1982, reshuffled the government.   Before the reshuffle, some Cameroonian newspapers -published several alleged cabinet reshuffles which did not become a reality. 
     Cameroon, now with a population of 22.25 million people (World Bank, 2013), has over 45 Members of Government
     President Biya, against wide speculations that Prime Minister Philemon Yang (he assumed that office in 2009), would be sacked, maintained the latter.

Find below the October 2, 2015 cabinet reshuffle:

 Minister-Delegate at the Presidency in charge of Defence: Joseph Beti Assomo;
Minister- Delegate, Supreme State Audit: Rose Mba Acha;
Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development: Henri Eyebe Ayissi;
Minister of Arts and Culture: Mouelle Kombi;
Minister of Economy, Planning and Regional Development: Louis Paul Motaze;
Minister of Social Affairs: Pauline Onguene;
Minister of Secondary Education: Jean Ernest Ngalle;
Minister of Youth and Civic Education: Mounouna Foutsou;
Minister of Sports and Physical Education: Ismaël Bidoung Mpkwatt;
Minister of Posts and Telecommunication: Minette Libom Li Likeng;
Minister of External Relations: Lejeune Mbella Mbella;
Minister of Transports: Edgar Alain Mebe Ngo’o;
Minister of Mines and Technological Development: Ernest Ngwaboubou;
Minister of Public Works: Emmanuel Nganou Djoumessi;
Minister- Delegate of Finances: Paul Elung Che;
Secretary -General at the Prime Minister’s Office: Seraphin Magloire Fouda;
Assistant Secretary -General at the PM’s Office: Pascal Nguihi Kamte;
Special Adviser at the Presidency of the Republic: Dieudonne Samba.

No comments: